AFC Bournemouth captain Simon Francis was critical of referee Mike Jones and his assistants following the defeat to Arsenal on Sunday.
With the Cherries 2-1 down, with a goal from Alexis Sanchez and one from Theo Walcott either side of a Callum Wilson penalty, Jones had two opportunities to give AFC Bournemouth a second penalty of the game.
The first was for a clear double handed push on the back of Steve Cook from a corner, the kind of decision that under the new grappling regulations is now a stonewall penalty.
The second was for a handball when Simon Francis’s attempted through ball was handled.
Francis believes that the handball should have been awarded, but considered whether the referee thought twice about giving the away side two penalties at the Emirates.
Francis told the Daily Echo…
“…It`s difficult for the referee, having seen it back I`m not sure he had a great view of it.
“But I know for a fact the linesman`s got an excellent view, he`s in line with it, he`s standing there. That`s when you need your linesman to help the referee out.
“If he had put his flag up the referee would have given it, it`s as simple as that.
“It`s tough for a referee to give two penalties at the Emirates. But if they are penalties you have to give them, that`s what you expect from a referee…”
Sanchez deserved red. We should have a penalty for handball. – Join the conversation here.
It’s easy to join AFCB Vital
Sign up and have your say on the articles, polls and forums, just click the link to register.